Application of the Security Features

Previous  Next

While booting (after selecting bootprofile), the bootmanager BootStar fills the master boot record partition table with the partitions to be used.

 

These partitions are temporarily unprotected, because they can be (and are supposed to be) seen by all users and operating systems.

 

In order to protect the partitions again, the entries from the master boot record partition table have to be deleted again. This can be done in two ways:

1.Booting the computer (partitions are deleted when BootStar is started)
2.Calling the program using "/ClearMBR" (profi mode only)

 

Operating systems read the partition table only during booting. Therefore, the program may already be called in the "AUTOEXEC.BAT" file by using "/ClearMBR". The computer will then remain protected if not newly rebooted.

 

The booting sequence in the BIOS should always be "HDD, CDROM" and the BIOS should always be protected by a password. This will prevent that a user does not boot from disk without having authorization to do so. However, booting from disk may still be possible if you permit it with the aid of the bootprofiles.

 

Modifying the booting sequence also ensures that the bootmanager BootStar will always be called and that the entries from the master boot record partition table are thus deleted. (This is only reliable if the harddisk will not be taken out of the computer and then reinstalled into another computer.)

 

 

See also:

Overview over the Security Features

How It Works of the Security Features

Bootprofiles

Master Boot Record